Dealing with Media

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dealing with Media

I am by no means an expert, and I hope our reach at AVFM has some media relations experts to help us along here because we need it.

I'll start off with what I think should be a fundamental premise that those of us involved with AVFM and other MRA establishments need to understand about the mainstream media.

Don't ever... ever answer the premise of their question.

Mainstream journalists are not impartial and they are not unbiased and they are not allies of truth or anything of the sort. Mainstream journalists are very much like police officers who suspect you are a criminal. They will use anything you say in whatever context they can use to build their case, whatever that case may be. Whatever they suspect you are, is what they will edit your responses to say.

A question like "Do you think feminism has done good in the past" cannot be answered directly as your entire interview might be edited down to just your response to that one question.

You don't have to answer a question simply because a journalist asked it. You don't have to explain your position simply because a journalist asked it.

You could answer the above question like:

"Well Jane... a lot of evidence shows that feminism is not about equality like it claims to be, which is why there are so many people turning to A Voice for Men for Answers"
    "Well Bob... there seems to be more and more people realizing that feminist claims are just that, claims and not facts, which is why there are so many people turning to A Voice for Men for some facts."
    "Well Samantha... there is so much propaganda surrounding feminism that average folks just don't want to be associated with a group that has a history of blaming men for everything, , which is why there are so many people turning to A Voice for Men for some answers."