Why I'm here.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why I'm here.

My name is Nathaniel Postma. I am currently a student in college studying Social Services Youth Specialty. In other words, I'm going to become a youth worker.

I was raised by my grandmother, and two aunts until I was twelve years old. In that time, after my great grandmother passed away, things went downhill. Abused, neglected, silenced, and humiliated in front of my peers. At 4 years old, I was sexually molested by one of my aunts, and after attempting to tell my grandmother, I was silenced. She refused to believe me. Acted as if I was lying.

Finally at twelve, I was put into foster care after too many ignored reports to social services of child abuse. From there, I was moved from foster home to foster home, almost literally living out of a garbage bag of clothes and a few possessions.

At nineteen, when I aged out, I had already been dating a girl for a few months. She eventually became pregnant, and of course things again went sour. She became very controlling, manipulative, and physically, mentally, and emotionally abusive. After a year of fighting for custody of my daughter from the ministry that chewed me up and spat me back out, She became pregnant with my son. This was of course after I had told her that I wasn't ready to have another child, that it was too soon, but of course she didn't listen. Without warning, or knowledge, she went off her birth control, and of course she got pregnant.

Not long after he was born, she became much more physically abusive. Throwing punches, glasses, plates, basically whatever she could find. Throughout our relationship, I had made reports to the police, they would respond, but do nothing about it. Nobody was arrested, and I was left ignored, and discouraged once again. Now I am engaged to a wonderful woman whom I can say is an anti feminist, equalist, and simply loves my children and I.